Have you ever had a project that you’re excited at the beginning, but gradually you find it boring so you work on it less and less? This is the tale of one such project, my Lace Ribbon Scarf.

I purchased this gorgeous fingering weight silk and wool yarn over a year ago at my favorite local yarn store (it’s my favorite partly because I can walk to it, although the yarns and people there are awesome). I already had the lace ribbon scarf pattern in mind and had decided to also knit a matching beret (more on the beret later). This time last year, I was riding the bus to school at least 3 times a week, so I had plenty of knitting time. I had knitted about half of the scarf (1 skein), when I decided that I should knit the beret to make sure I had enough yarn for it. I knit the Reverie Beret once, but had to frog it because it was too small.

At that point I left for 2 months in Greece with the scarf in tow. I had other projects that occupied my knitting time while abroad (Ripples skirt, hats for my friends Vlassis and Gabitza, and my first 2 tries of the Razor Lace Cami which has since been frogged), so the Lace Ribbon languished. The scarf sat only half-way finished until this month when, flush with enthusiasm from successful completion of 2 projects during the Winter Olympics, I decided to finish the Lace Ribbon scarf and Reverie beret. The Lace Ribbon pattern is easily memorized and easy enough to work on while on the bus or watching TV.

Last night, while I was watching a Netflix video, I messed up a row. I probably could have tinked (unknit) back to where I messed up, but suddenly I was fed up with this scarf. Don’t get me wrong, the pattern is nice and the scarf was looking good, but I was bored with knitting it. So I frogged the scarf.

All those months of knitting gone in half an hour.

And I don’t regret it.

I cast on for a Springtime Bandit with the now freed up yarn. And I’m loving it.

So farewell Lace Ribbon Scarf (and Reverie beret). Someday I may knit you, but probably not until I once again have long bus rides and the need for a super-easy pattern.

