Another Monday and a new week’s worth of goals!! But first, a recap of how I did with last week’s goals.

  • Write tectonics, soil, and land use sections – COMPLETED!!
  • GIS: work on land cover classification & do analysis on sectors based on slope and aspect – I worked on the land cover classification, although it still has to be improved, but didn’t touch slope or aspect.
  • Start slides for Spring Symposium presentation – didn’t do this and am not sure I’m going to try to present at the Spring Symposium, which may be a time sink that I can’t afford.
  • Exercise 2 times this week – I went to the gym and rode the bike twice last week and went on a walk yesterday.
  • Finish knitting Bousta Scarf – Knitting is completed, but still need to weave in the many, many ends and block this scarf.
  • Read about how to do editing – Didn’t do this, so I need to work it in with this week’s editing of Chapters 1 & 2.

An overall productive week and not just with my knitting! And now for this week’s goals.

  • Edit Chapters 1 & 2 into a 2nd draft – my big project for this week. I’ve broken this down into chunks by day to keep myself from getting overwhelmed.
  1. Monday – Chapters 1 & 2 overall organization (sections); resolve dating issues (convert all to B.C. and A.D.); and make sure all references are properly linked.
  2. Tuesday – Edit Chapter 1 (this is a short chapter that introduces the entire thesis and will probably change quite a bit once I’m finished, so I’m not spending too much time on it).
  3. Wednesday – Edit Chapter 2: Geology.
  4. Thursday – Edit Chapter 2: Climate, etc.
  5. Friday – Edit Chapter 2: Land Use.
  6. Saturday and Sunday – as needed.
  • GIS: land cover classification and create validation file – I got a lead on another type of land cover classification that I’d like to try. If I have time, I’ll also try to work on slope and aspect.
  • Work on slides for Spring Symposium/AAG presentation – need to get started on this!!
  • Exercise 2 times this week – same as previous weeks, although getting in another geocaching walk would be wonderful.
  • Knitting – weave in ends and block Bousta scarf; work on Lace Ribbon scarf.
  • Spinning – try to spin for 15 minutes every day; need to work on developing spinning muscle knowledge.
  • Create 1 outfit – I’ve long felt that I need to improve my wardrobe and sense of personal style. Although I’m spending this year working on my thesis (mostly) from home, I felt it last year when I taught both fall and spring semesters and struggled through dressing the part of professor. In a thread on the Anthropologie fan group on Ravelry about “How do you shop? and What makes a great wardrobe?” were some links that I poured over yesterday in between georeferencing maps. Two of my favorite links were The Essentials of a Well-Balanced Wardrobe and Academichic. Essentials lists items that belong in Basic, Staple, Statement Pieces, Evening Standards, and Showstoppers categories to serve as the basis of a wardrobe. I’m happy to say that I have most of the staples, but am lacking in most of the other categories. The only thing left out of these lists was a list of essential shoes. Academichic is a blog written by 3 Ph.D students at a midwestern university that has been online for over a year now. I spend quite a bit of time going over their archives yesterday (and this morning) and favoriting pictures of outfits I liked on flickr. Their outfits are inspiring and they also have good tutorials on color. Plus they have a wonderful list on “Comfortable Yet Chic Shoes” that I’m going to base shoe selection on in the future. In their honor and to get myself out of my jeans and hoodie rut, I’m going to try to make one “outfit” each week, which I’ll probably post here.

Well, I have a busy week planned for myself, so I’ll wrap this up and get to work.

