Okay, so the postman only rang once, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t get something fun in the mail today. I got the Learn to Spin kit from The Bellwether.

The kit includes a booklet on how to spin, a spindle, and three batches of fiber to start spinning with. I’m very excited the kit arrived and had to force myself not to play with the wool right away. One of the reasons why I couldn’t play with the spinning kit right away is that I need to finish a scarf I’m making for a friend. I’m meeting this friend for lunch tomorrow, so there’s a bit of a time crunch. Luckily the scarf knits up quickly and is almost finished.

The scarf is knit in long rows until it is as wide as wanted. I’m using a different yarn for each row, so there are different colors and textures in the scarf.

Here’s a close-up of the yarns in the scarf. I’m repeating yarns, but not in sequence to make the scarf more funky. I just need to knit on a few more rows and the scarf will be finished. Just in time for lunch tomorrow.

And then I can spin!!

